Resources

Professional Organizations & Departments of Education

American School Counselor Association
http://www.schoolcounselor.org

American Counseling Association
http://www.counseling.org

Pennsylvania School Counselor Association
https://www.paschoolcounselor.org/

Pennsylvania Department of Education
https://www.education.pa.gov/Pages/default.aspx

United States Department of Education
http://www.ed.gov


Resources by Topic

Advocacy
Connect for Kids connectingforkids.org

Alcohol
Pennsylvania Liquor Control Board https://www.lcb.pa.gov/Pages/default.aspx
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse & Alcoholism https://www.niaaa.nih.gov/
Mothers Against Drunk Driving www.madd.org
Students Against Destructive Decisions www.sadd.org

Body Image
Body Positive www.bodypositive.com

Bullying
Kidscape: Dealing with Bullies www.kidscape.org.uk/
Stop Bullying Now! www.stopbullyingnow.com
STOP Cyberbullying www.stopcyberbullying.org

Career Education
Career Builder www.careerbuilder.com
Pennsylvania Career Zone www.pacareerzone.org
It's My Future www.myfuture.com
Occupation Outlook Handbook www.bls.gov/ooh
What Do You Like? www.bls.gov/k12

Character Education & Social Skills
Center for Social & Emotional Education www.schoolclimate.org
Character Counts www.charactercounts.org
Collaborative for the Advancement of Social & Emotional Learning www.casel.org

Conflict Resolution
Resolve www.resolv.org

Crisis Management
Crisis Management Institute www.cmionline.org
Emergency Planning Site www.education.pa.gov/Schools/safeschools/emergencyplanning/Pages/default.aspx

Cultural Competency
National MultiCultural Institute https://www.idealist.org/en/nonprofit/f00a5b4ed2b04ad080386a0f50731967-national-multicultural-institute-washington
Advocates for Youth https://www.advocatesforyouth.org/

Diversity
The Association for Multicultural Counseling & Development https://www.multiculturalcounselingdevelopment.org/
Tolerance.org www.tolerance.org
Learning Disabilities Online www.ldonline.org
Emotional Intelligence www.eq.org

Eating Disorders
Anorexia Nervosa & Related Eating Disorders, Inc. www.anred.com
The National Eating Disorder Information Center www.nedic.ca

Exceptionality
American Student Achievement Institute https://www.studentachievementinstitute.com/
The Education Trust www.edtrust.org

Grief
National Center for Grieving Children and Families www.dougy.org
National Institute for Trauma & Loss in Children https://starr.org/

Health Issues
American Heart Association www.americanheart.org
American Diabetes Association www.diabetes.org

Mental Health
Primary Mental Health Project www.childrensinstitute.net

Nutrition
U.S. Food and Drug Administration www.fda.gov
American Dietetic Association www.eatright.org
Calorie Control Council www.caloriecontrol.org
The Vegetarian Resource Group www.vrg.org

Parenting
Parenting.com www.parenting.com
Parenting Education www.activeparenting.com

Physical Wellness and Education
The President's Council on Physical Fitness & Sports www.fitness.gov

Safety
The National School Safety Center www.schoolsafety.us
Safe Within www.safewithin.com

Stress
The American Institute of Stress www.stress.org
KidsHealth www.kidshealth.org

Sustainability
America's Second Harvest https://www.feedingamerica.org

Technology Safety
OnGuard Online youth.gov/federal-links/onguard-online
Get Net Wise Coalition www.getnetwise.org
I Keep Safe www.ikeepsafe.org
National Cyber Security Alliance www.staysafeonline.org

Tobacco
American Lung Association https://www.lung.org/
Coalition for a Tobacco Free Pennsylvania https://rptfc.org/

Tolerance
Teaching Tolerance www.tolerance.org

Violence
Fight Crime: Invest in Kids www.fightcrime.org
Student Pledge Against Gun Violence www.pledge.org